Tuesday, February 24th

Next Tuesday we will be returning to the Metta Sutta – the Buddha’s words on Loving-Kindness. Two weeks ago our discussion was mostly about metta as an intention to be generous towards other people – the ‘May all beings be happy’ line is a good example of this aspect of the sutta.

There is another strand in the sutta that suggests ways that we might work with our greed and ambition, for example:

I will be … easily contented and joyous.
I will not be submerged by the things of the world.
I will not take upon myself the burden of riches.
… I will not desire great possessions even for my family.

Please think about these parts of the sutta and bring your insights to the group.

The schedule is:

6:00 – 6:30 sitting
6:30 – 7:15 discussion
7:15 – 7:30 sitting

The sitting takes place at BIBS – location in the sidebar.

